workflowsRI Summits Workflows Community Summit
Workflows Community Summit
Cancel

Workflows Community Summit

Wednesday – January 13, 2021
9am-noon PST / noon-3pm EST / 17:00-20:00 UTC
The workflowsRI and ExaWorks projects are organizing the Workflows Community Summit. This unique event will gather a select group of lead researchers from distinct workflow management systems, and will seek to identify crucial challenges in the workflow community. This event will be the first of a series of focused meetings, and will serve to define the strategic goals for upcoming meetings with the science and workflow developer communities.

Agenda

TimeTopic
9-9:05am PST
noon-12:05pm EST
17:00-17:05 UTC
Welcome and introductions
Rafael Ferreira da Silva
9:05-9:15am PST
12:05-12:15pm EST
17:05-17:15pm UTC
workflowsRI project overview  
Rafael Ferreira da Silva
9:15-9:25am PST
12:15-12:25pm EST
17:15-17:25pm UTC
ExaWorks project overview  
Dan Laney
9:25-9:55am PST
12:25-12:55pm EST
17:25-17:55pm UTC
Lightning talks
Theme 1: FAIR computational workflows  
Carole Goble
Theme 2: Training and education for workflow users  
Lavanya Ramakrishnan
Theme 3: AI workflows  
Luc Peterson
Theme 4: Exascale challenges and beyond  
Bjoern Enders
Theme 5: APIs, interoperability, reuse, and standards  
Douglas Thain
Theme 6: Building a workflows community  
Ilkay Altintas
9:55-10:05am PST
12:55-1:05pm EST
17:55-18:05 UTC
10min Break (preparation for breakout sessions)
10:05-10:35am PST
1:05-1:35pm EST
18:05-18:35pm UTC
Breakout Session 1
Theme 1: FAIR computational workflows
Theme 2: Training and education for workflow users
Theme 3: AI workflows
10:35-10:50am PST
1:35-1:50pm EST
18:35-18:50pm UTC
Reports: Breakout Session 1
10:50-11:05am PST
1:50-2:05pm EST
18:50-19:05 UTC
15min Break
11:05-11:35am PST
2:05-2:35pm EST
19:05-19:35 UTC
Breakout Session 2
Theme 4: Exascale challenges and beyond
Theme 5: APIs, interoperability, reuse, and standards
Theme 6: Building a workflows community
11:35-11:50am PST
2:35-2:50pm EST
19:35-19:50 UTC
Reports: Breakout Session 2
11:50am-noon PST
2:50-3pm EST
19:50-20:00 UTC
Final remarks and moving forward
Kyle Chard
We thank all participants for their valuable contributions. We are currently working on the event report and will make it available online as soon as possible. If you have any questions/issues, please reach out to us at leadership@workflowsri.org.